Simple salad + vinaigrette. A match made in salad heaven.

Leave a comment
Quimple (Quick and simple), Vegetables

Before I begin, I’ve got a tiny confession to make. Until today, I didn’t know that vinaigrette had an ‘a’ in it until I typed ‘vinigrette’ into Google and it came up with its all seeing and forever knowledgeable correction; ‘showing results for vinaigrette’. Thanks a lot Google. Ever so patronising.

Moving on. Today my mum was responsible for the main dinner dish so I was left with the job of chopping onions, peppers, washing the dishes and all that really relevant stuff. To make myself a bit useful in the kitchen, I decided to take on the grand job of salad-making. Believe me when I say it wasn’t easy *wipes forehead*. Okay seriously, this is probably one of the easiest, quickest and tastiest salad you will every come across.

The balancing of flavours in an attempt to not overpower the very light and simple salad was the challenge. So for this it was better to be quite organised and have a clear head (which was the opposite of what I was…obviously).

The 3 amigos/; balsamic vinegar, rice wine vinegar and rapeseed oil

You will need:

  • 2 tsp balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tsp rice wine vinegar, we ran out of white wine vinegar so I went for something that sounded remotely similar
  • 3 tsp rapeseed oil, you could substitute for olive oil
  • Juice of 1 whole lemon
  • 1 clove of garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp wholegrain mustard
  • 1 handful fried onions, you can buy then in Asian shops. They’re brown and crispy and add a not-so-overpowering oniony taste to the salad
  • 1 head of lettuce, you can add grated carrots, radish, cabbage or whatever rocks your boat
  • Cherry tomatoes to garnish
  • Salt to taste

You need to:

  1. Hand whisk (or just use a fork) all the ingredients together
  2. Add salt to taste
  3. Pour over the lettuce
  4. Kick it old school and use your hands to incorporate the juices. The vinaigrette and lettuce should flirt, kiss then get married and create a beautiful baby in the form of a lovely lovely salad.Enjoy by itself or with flaked smoked mackerel or salmon fillet or lightly crumble some feta or goats’ cheese…gaaaah I’m getting hungry thinking about all the possibilities!What do you like to eat your salad with?
Posted by

Hello, I’m Aisha and I am a foodaholic. If weight gain does not correlate with food intake, my whole life would be about food. I’d eat (more of) it, breathe it, swim (although I can’t swim) in it, drown (since I can’t swim) in it. I’d speak the language of food and my body would be food. I’d probably end up eating myself. My brain is occupied with food thoughts 84.74% of the time. If I didn’t go running at least 4 times a week like I do now then I’d definitely be 90kg or 14 stones or 1000000 stones or more. And I wish I didn’t care because I’d be the happiest fattest person ever as long as I eat good food. So welcome to the virtual food side of my brain and let’s get virtually fat together.

What do you think?

