Chewy fruity goodness: Cinnamon cookies

4 comments
Cakes and bakes, Cookies

I kid you not, for the past 3 days, I have been woken up by the smell of baking. Cheese bread on Wednesday, cinnamon rolls on Thursday and chocolate cake on Friday. Some of our cousins (aged 5, 7 & 11) are staying over and my mum discovered that they like sweet nibbles so she took advantage of this excuse to bake. The rest of us (aged 13, 17, 19, 21, 23 & 24) like her cakes but we are all trying to stay healthy so she knows not to bake too often because it might go to waste. All this baking aroma got me in a baking frenzy so I found some space in our chaotic kitchen and whipped out these cookies.

I already knew that I wanted to make a kind of cookie called Fairings which I got from a cookbook we had at home. I looked for the cookbook everywhere and it wasn’t there. My mum had given it away. So I had to rely on my memory and make some adjustments but it came out differently perfect! Crunchy on the outside because of the caramelised sugar and chewy on the inside. Heaven!

You will need:

  • 195g plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate soda
  • 1/2 tsp grated nutmeg
  • 2 tbsp cinnamon powder
  • 80g caster sugar
  • 100g butter, room temperature
  • 50g glacé ginger
  • 50g glacé cherries
  • 65g dried cranberries
  • 3 tbsp golden syrup

You need to:

  1. Preheat the over to gas mark 6. Line baking tray with greaseproof paper and spray with cooking oil or melted butter and some flour. Make sure it’s lined smoothly because the cookies are going to spread when they’re in the oven and you want them to remain flat on an even surface.
  2. Sift all the dry ingredients into a bowl then add the butter. Use your fingertips to make the mixture into breadcrumbs.
  3. Add the glacé ginger, cherries and dried cranberries and use your fingertips again to incorporate.
  4. Add the golden syrup then squish and pat the mixture with both hands until you have a dough. You really don’t need to work it like a pizza dough.
  5. Flour the work surface and make the dough into a log (as pictured) then use a knife to cut about 1/2 inch apart or depending on how big you want the cookies.

6. Roll each part into a ball then lightly flatten with your palms.

7. Place unto a baking tray and quite wide apart because they will spread whilst baking.

8. Leave for 12-15 minutes in the oven depending on the size. I found that my first batch took 12 minutes and my second batch took 15 minutes. You have to be really careful when baking these because of the sugar content, it browns and burns quickly so take it out when it looks ALMOST done then leave it for 3 minutes on the baking tray because it will still be cooking inside. Cool for 10 more minutes on a baking rack.

9. Enjoy with tea or ice cream or by itself.

Do you have any recipes that you have had to adjust? What was the outcome?

Posted by

Hello, I’m Aisha and I am a foodaholic. If weight gain does not correlate with food intake, my whole life would be about food. I’d eat (more of) it, breathe it, swim (although I can’t swim) in it, drown (since I can’t swim) in it. I’d speak the language of food and my body would be food. I’d probably end up eating myself. My brain is occupied with food thoughts 84.74% of the time. If I didn’t go running at least 4 times a week like I do now then I’d definitely be 90kg or 14 stones or 1000000 stones or more. And I wish I didn’t care because I’d be the happiest fattest person ever as long as I eat good food. So welcome to the virtual food side of my brain and let’s get virtually fat together.

4 thoughts on “Chewy fruity goodness: Cinnamon cookies”

    • Trust me it was! Maybe next time I would soak the cranberries in boiling water and then drain and squeeze before I put it in. Just for that extra juiciness!

      Like

  1. I am so inspired by all these FOODDDDD….. Goodness! Do you really cook and bake all these?? Suddenly, I want to learn to bake and make exotic meals lol. Well done You!

    Like

    • Awww thank you! Yes I do cook and bake everything you see here from our small but cute kitchen.

      Trust me anyone is capable of cooking exotic food lol. What kind of things do you like to eat? I find that I get this sense of achievement when I actually make something that I eat in restaurants, and it tastes twice as good or even better!

      Like

What do you think?

