Pancakes and assorted syrupy toppings: Apple + Kiwi and Cranberry

4 comments
Breakfast, Cakes and bakes

I remember in my first year of university, I used to make pancakes like there was no tomorrow. I made friends from the other blocks by making pancakes, I was known as the pancake girl. Pancake Day was my time to shine and my time to feed the mouths of so many hungry students (okay just about 6 of my housemates). We ate pancakes with everything; lemon, lemon and sugar, sugar, honey, golden syrup, condensed milk, bananas, chocolate spread; literally anything that required the littlest of effort and the quickest time. I miss those days. That was 3 years ago so it’s been a really long time since I made them.

It’s no surprise that I woke up this morning craving pancakes. I craved making them, the smell of them and the orgasmic taste of them altogether. I needed cookie cutters to make the pancakes neat and pretty but we didn’t have any at home and nothing was going to stop me from having my pretty pancakes so I made my very own cookie cutter. I’m definitely going to patent this invention. Eat my shorts Dyson!

So anyways back to my pancakes. Honestly I chose the toppings based on what we had in the fridge and cupboards; kiwis, apples and dried fruits.

For the pancake mix:

  • 150g self raising flour
  • 2+1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 30g ground almond
  • 80g caster sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp mascarpone cheese
  • 1/2tsp vanilla paste
  • 200ml milk
  • 1tbsp sesame seed
  • A small chuck of ginger, grated

For the kiwi and apple topping:

  • 1 apple
  • 1 kiwi
  • 50g caster sugar
  • 200ml warm water

For the cranberry topping:

  • 50g dried cranberries
  • 25g caster sugar
  • 100ml boiling water

You need to:

  1. Add all the kiwi topping ingredients and bring to a boil for 15 minutes or until the sugar dissolves and the mixture looks syrupy. In a separate pan, do the same for the cranberry topping.

2. For the pancakes, firstly whisk the egg, mascarpone cheese, ginger, sesame seed, milk and vanilla paste for 3 minutes

3. Add the dry ingredients while mixing- 2 tablespoons at a time

4. Pour 2 teaspoons of oil unto a frying pan with the cookie cutter and let it heat up (but not scalding hot) for 1 minute.

5. Pour 2 tablespoons of the pancake mixture into the cookie cutter and leave it until the top starts to bubble

6. Lift off the cookie cutter with a flat spoon or a spatula then flip the pancake and leave for a minute

Serve with any of the toppings or both! The combination of the fruit was really a lovely change from the usual maple syrup or lemon and sugar topping. Also, the hint of ginger in the pancake mix added a nice kick to every fluffy mouthful. Hello pancake girl!

What toppings do you like on your pancakes?

Posted by

Hello, I’m Aisha and I am a foodaholic. If weight gain does not correlate with food intake, my whole life would be about food. I’d eat (more of) it, breathe it, swim (although I can’t swim) in it, drown (since I can’t swim) in it. I’d speak the language of food and my body would be food. I’d probably end up eating myself. My brain is occupied with food thoughts 84.74% of the time. If I didn’t go running at least 4 times a week like I do now then I’d definitely be 90kg or 14 stones or 1000000 stones or more. And I wish I didn’t care because I’d be the happiest fattest person ever as long as I eat good food. So welcome to the virtual food side of my brain and let’s get virtually fat together.

4 thoughts on “Pancakes and assorted syrupy toppings: Apple + Kiwi and Cranberry”

  1. I must say I am a sucker for lemon, sugar and cream! Such a nanna!!! I will try this mix, mine is normally a very simple batter but I did branch out and try lefse this week!

    Like

    • To be honest you can’t go wrong with a simple classic like lemon, sugar and cream!
      Me too! I used to make the simple batter of egg, milk, flour and sugar before but it definitely depends on my mood

      Like

What do you think?

