Tastebuds party up in here: Banana, poppy seed + chocolate cake with coconut cream

2 comments
Cakes and bakes, Quimple (Quick and simple)

Too much happening? Definitely. But in the best way possible with all the best things in the world; banana, dark chocolate, white chocolate, poppy seeds, coconut, mascarpone and love. How good can it get? Better than you expect.

I really like the idea of banana and chocolate especially dark chocolate. I had a friend who hates eating chocolate mixed with fruit for example orange and chocolate (Jaffa cakes). We’re not friends anymore.

Just kidding!

The combination was like rich and bitter chunks of dark chocolate splattered on a sweet fragrant banana canvas with crunchy poppy seed speckles. The subtle coconut flavour complemented the whole picture and brought it to life.

You will need:

  • 2 ripe and soft bananas
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla paste
  • 210g self raising flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 175g sugar
  • 30g poppy seeds
  • 175g butter
  • 100g dark chocolate, chips or chunks (I used both)
  • 50g white chocolate chips

You need to:

Preheat the oven to gas mark 5

In a bowl, whisk the eggs thoroughly , add the vanilla paste and mashed banana

In a separate bowl sift the flour and baking powder, add poppy seeds and sugar and mix together. Add the butter and use your finger tips to incorporate so the mixture looks like breadcrumbs. Don’t be tempted (like I was) to just squeeze and mash everything up together, the cake will come out looking like a hot mess.

Add the eggy banana mixture and use a fork to mix by making a number ‘8’ until the batter is smooth and thick. Add more flour if you need to because the bananas are pretty moist and no one wants an over-moist cake.

The way you line the cake tin is vital depending on the type of cake tin you’re using. I normally use oil spray with greaseproof paper but this time I was using a bundt cake tin. So I greased the pan abundantly and then floured it up. When the cake was ready it came out of the tin effortlessly!

Add the chocolate chunks and chips and mix again with a fork. I only used chips because we didn’t have enough real chocolate left but either is good! Next time though I would use equal amounts of dark and white chocolate. Pour into the tin and bake for 40 minutes.

For the optional coconut cream, you simply need to whisk until smooth:

  • 100g mascarpone cheese
  • 70g icing sugar
  • 2 tbsp evaporated milk
  • 15g creamed coconut
  • 1 tbsp milk

I’ll be making this cake again later this week for my brother to take to university with him. Damn I’m such a good sister!

Do you like to combine chocolate with fruit ? What’s your favourite fruit and choc combo?

Posted by

Hello, I’m Aisha and I am a foodaholic. If weight gain does not correlate with food intake, my whole life would be about food. I’d eat (more of) it, breathe it, swim (although I can’t swim) in it, drown (since I can’t swim) in it. I’d speak the language of food and my body would be food. I’d probably end up eating myself. My brain is occupied with food thoughts 84.74% of the time. If I didn’t go running at least 4 times a week like I do now then I’d definitely be 90kg or 14 stones or 1000000 stones or more. And I wish I didn’t care because I’d be the happiest fattest person ever as long as I eat good food. So welcome to the virtual food side of my brain and let’s get virtually fat together.

2 thoughts on “Tastebuds party up in here: Banana, poppy seed + chocolate cake with coconut cream”

  1. Pingback: When two become one: Fresh mint chocolate layered cake | Foodlattio [fud~lay~she~oh]

  2. Pingback: Good things come in small pastries: Banana tarlets + toffee sauce | Foodlattio [fud~lay~she~oh]

What do you think?

