Winter’s come early: Butternut squash + Prosciutto soup

12 comments
Quimple (Quick and simple), Vegetables

There’s something about supermarkets that makes me just want to spend my whole day in there. I love exploring the food sections and thinking up ideas as I go along. I find it so amazing how just a large building manages to have products that cater for so many peoples’ lives.

We went to the supermarket yesterday and as usual I wandered around the fruit and veg section looking for something new to try. Butternut squash has always been a no-go area for me because I don’t really understand the mechanics of the veg; what does it look like inside, why is it a weird shape, what’s up with its hard-as-rock exterior? But we bought it anyways and what other way to use it than for a plain classic soup.

The addition of the prosciutto (parma ham) added a touch of saltiness that cut through the sweet pulp of the butternut squash. If I was to make this again, I would include fresh peeled tomatoes in order to thin the soup and one roasted bell pepper for a deeper flavour. Imagine how beautiful it will look and taste!

Ingredients

  • 2 medium-sized butternut squash
  • 1 red onion, quartered
  • 6 slices of parma ham
  • 3 cloves of garlic, roughly chopped
  • 3 pinches of salt
  • 3 pinches of paprika
  • 1/2 tsp dried rosemary
  • Olive oil to drizzle
  • 1 litre vegetable or chicken stock, might need more depending on how thick you want the soup
  • 1/2 white onion, diced
  • 2 tbsp chilli flakes
  • Handful of parsley, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic

Method

  1. Cut the squash into two and scoop out the seeds. With a sharp knife, slash the inside and outside of the squash and sprinkle on the salt, paprika and rosemary. Add the garlic, onions and drizzle generously with olive oil.
  2. Pop in the oven (gas mark 4) for 40 minutes. Throw on the slices of parma ham and put back in the oven for 20 minutes.
  3. Leave to cool down then peel off the skin. Discard of the skin and put the pulpy sweet potato-like squash and the remaining contents (roasted garlic and onions) into the blender.
  4. Add 500ml of the stock into the blender and whizzzzz with all the ingredients.
  5. Pour 1tbsp olive oil into a pan on medium heat and add the onions, garlic and chilli flakes. Leave for 3 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  6. Pour the blender ingredients into the pan with the parsley and the remaining stock. Leave to simmer on low heat and add salt if necessary.
  7. Serve in your favourite bowl, cosy up with your blanket and hot water bottle and enjoy with crusty garlic bread.

Apart from soup, what else do you use butternut squash for?

Posted by

Hello, I’m Aisha and I am a foodaholic. If weight gain does not correlate with food intake, my whole life would be about food. I’d eat (more of) it, breathe it, swim (although I can’t swim) in it, drown (since I can’t swim) in it. I’d speak the language of food and my body would be food. I’d probably end up eating myself. My brain is occupied with food thoughts 84.74% of the time. If I didn’t go running at least 4 times a week like I do now then I’d definitely be 90kg or 14 stones or 1000000 stones or more. And I wish I didn’t care because I’d be the happiest fattest person ever as long as I eat good food. So welcome to the virtual food side of my brain and let’s get virtually fat together.

12 thoughts on “Winter’s come early: Butternut squash + Prosciutto soup”

  1. I have the same problem with butternut squash ( and sweet potato). I love the idea of the proscuitto and adding the tomatoes. Not sure about the pepper, but I bet you’re right:)

    Like

    • Maybe next time I’ll make a tomato WITH butternut squash soup. Thinking about it now, the pepper might be a bit unnecessary but I’m a sucker for experimenting and throwing things together and hoping it comes out right.

      I’ll be trying it out soon so watch this space!

      Like

  2. This looks really really good – I haven’t actually cooked with butternut squash before, but I think this will be the year I give it a try. I like the idea of adding the parma ham – I bet those flavors go really well together.

    Though I haven’t cooked anything with butternut squash myself, I once had a pizza that used butternut squash puree in place of tomato sauce, then topped it with fresh mozzarella, crumbled blue cheese, spinach, and caramelized onions. It was exquisite. I’ve also had really good butternut squash ravioli!

    And thanks for following my blog :). I look forward to reading more of yours!

    Like

    • Thank you very much! Although this was my first time cooking with it, I instantly fell in love after I got over the ‘omg I’ve never made this before, I don’t know what I’m doing’ feeling. It’s got so much character and has the most beautiful food colour I’ve ever seen. And there’s some about its texture and taste that makes it so versatile and perfect for both sweet and savoury dishes.

      If you are trying this recipe, I would advice adding more stock or as I mentioned before maybe 2 large peeled tomatoes or even carrot juice because the soup was quite thick and pulpy which I genuinely loved with the parma ham but my little sister hated it.

      My gosh that pizza sounds AMAZING! I wonder if it would work well if the butternut squash was incorporated into the pizza dough itself so that the tangy tomato base and the savoury topping cut into the sweet crust; kinda like having a bbq pizza. Or imagine oven-roasted salmon with a thick butternut squash sauce. Or even a butternut squash cheesecake. The possibilities are actually endless!

      Like

    • I LOVE Butternut squash! I serve it as a vegetable. Since it is so difficult to peel, I put the whole squash in the over for about 30 minutes, and remove it when it’s soft enough to cut. Cut it in half, scoop out the seeds and fill the inside with whatever appeals to you; SAVORY OR SPICY. I love it with cinnamon and butter. Simple and delicious!

      Like

    • I might actually try that Ronnie, thanks for the suggestion. I can imagine filling it with a creamy cinnamony rice pudding. I’ll let you know how it goes 🙂

      Like

  3. This looks really great! I’m always jealous of those who get to make puréed soups – I don’t have a blender or immersion blender 😦 Those shots of the squash roasting in the oven are really lovely though!

    Like

    • Thanks a lot Liz (:
      I remember back in my student days (well only a couple of months ago) instead of a blender I used a potato masher for my chunky soups and they came out almost smooth-like, so maybe you can try that?

      Like

  4. Patricia bell says:

    Lovely soup , did need to add extra stock as it was very thick but I suppose it depends on the size of the butternut squash . I wonder did you mean 2 tsp of dried chilli flakes instead of 2 tbsp , I only added 1 tbsp and it has quiet a kick !

    Like

    • Thank you for trying out the recipe Patricia! And same as you I felt it was too thick for my liking so the addition of extra stock is recommended, good move. Haha I did mean 2 tbsp but I love spicy food!

      Like

What do you think?

