Moist, rich and minty dessert: Fresh mint filling + chocolate layered cake

8 comments
Cakes and bakes, Quimple (Quick and simple)

There are so many different things in this world that we directly compare which we probably shouldn’t. iPhones and Blackberrys, Romney and Obama, Twitter and Facebook, chocolates and sweets. For me, you’re either a sweet person or a chocolate person. I could probably live on sweets all day everyday (haribos, jelly beans etc) and I can do without chocolate for even a year but lately I’ve been slowly falling in love with dark chocolate. It’s kinda like the kid at the back of the class that you’ve never noticed until now and you see that he’s got the most beautiful eyes in the world. Dark chocolate is bitter but sweet, it’s subtly sexy and it’s less sickly compared to milk chocolate. And what else goes best with dark chocolate (apart from my banana cake) other than the modest mint?

The sweet warm bitterness of dark chocolate coupled with the mint makes this cake the perfect and most relevant dessert. Hands down. I used fresh mint because as you all know I like trying new flavours; it made the mint filling taste slightlyleafy but strongly minty in a surprisingly good way. The result? Moist, rich dark chocolate sponge with a hint of mint in every mouthful.

Ingredients

For the sponge

  • 115g butter
  • 100g dark chocolate, broken into equal chunks
  • 55g cocoa powder
  • 125g self raising flour
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 6 eggs
  • 225g caster sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

For the mint filling

  • 14 fresh mint leaves
  • 100g cream cheese
  • 2 tsp peppermint flavouring
  • 2tbsp icing sugar

For the frosting

  • 100g butter
  • 70g icing sugar
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp cream cheese
  • 50g dark chocolate, melted

Firstly, prepare the mint filling

  • Use a pestle + mortar to grind the mint leaves. Add the peppermint flavouring then the cream cheese and lastly the icing sugar. Taste and add more leaves or flavouring depending on how minty you want it. Put in a bowl and leave in the fridge until ready to use.

Secondly, the chocolate cake

  • Preheat the oven to gas mark 4 and line two sandwich tins. I greased them, ‘floured’ the sides with cocoa powder then used greaseproof paper for the base.
  • In a small pan, melt the chocolate and butter on low heat until completely smooth. Transfer to a bowl and set aside. {I was worried about it solidifying so I immersed the bowl in a larger bowl of some boiling water just to keep it warm. Thinking about it now though, it probably wasn’t gonna solidify anyways because of the butter.}

  • Sift the flour, bicarbonate soda and cocoa powder together using a very fine sieve. Sift it 2 or 3 more times in the same bowl. We’re doing this because later we will be gently folding the final mixture so ensuring that there are no lumps of flour etc helps us avoid beating the mixture thereby losing the air in it. When this is done, set aside.

  • Now on to the fun bit. Place the egg yolks and sugar into a heatproof bowl over a pan of almost-simmering water (leave on low/medium heat). Use an electric whisk to whisk the mixture on a high setting for 7-10 minutes. You should stop when it looks frothy, pale, fluffy, light, thick, it should leave a trail when you lift the beaters and it should’ve doubled in size. When this is done, take off the heat and add the vanilla extract.

  • Sift in the dry ingredients in 3 batches; sift then fold, sift then fold, sift then fold. Fold gently so you don’t knock out all the air you spent like 7 minutes trying to create. Use a large metal spoon or like I did, I used a wooden spoon with a hole in it (I swear I didn’t DIY this. They actually sell them in shops and everything!) so that you do less folding as the mixture is evenly incorporated.

  • Divide the mixture evenly between the two tins, place on the middle rack in the oven and bake for 25 minutes (trust me). If you really want to open the oven, wait for 15 mins so that it doesn’t sink in the middle.

While it’s baking, make the frosting

  • Beat the butter until pale, add the icing sugar and cocoa powder then beat continuously until incorporated. Add the cream cheese and melted chocolate. Carry on beating for 2 minutes and set aside in a cool place or fridge until the cake is ready.

  • Take the cakes out of the oven and tins, remove the greaseproof paper from the bottom and leave on a cooling rack for 20 minutes.
  • Cut off any raised bits on the top of the bottom cake so it’s leveled. Spread the mint filling evenly using a spatula then sandwich and stack the cakes carefully.
  • Spread and decorate the chocolate icing evenly on and around the cake.
  • Eat, eat and eat like no one’s watching.

Apart from mint, do you have any other dark chocolate combinations?

Posted by

Hello, I’m Aisha and I am a foodaholic. If weight gain does not correlate with food intake, my whole life would be about food. I’d eat (more of) it, breathe it, swim (although I can’t swim) in it, drown (since I can’t swim) in it. I’d speak the language of food and my body would be food. I’d probably end up eating myself. My brain is occupied with food thoughts 84.74% of the time. If I didn’t go running at least 4 times a week like I do now then I’d definitely be 90kg or 14 stones or 1000000 stones or more. And I wish I didn’t care because I’d be the happiest fattest person ever as long as I eat good food. So welcome to the virtual food side of my brain and let’s get virtually fat together.

8 thoughts on “Moist, rich and minty dessert: Fresh mint filling + chocolate layered cake”

  1. Wow this looks fantastic. I love the use of fresh mint! I love dark chocolate with either ginger or orange 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you guys!
      Oh yes! How could I miss out orange and dark chocolate? I could live off Jaffa Cakes as well. I’ve never tried dark chocolate with ginger though, off to the kitchen I go!

      Like

  2. This sure is a labor of love, isn’t it? Like you, I was not really into dark chocolate. I never want to be a follower, but I suppose I started out as one. As soon as its popularity skyrocketed, I thought, “let me give it a try.” At first, I was not a fan. However, boy oh boy I appreciate and fall in love more and more. And of course chocolate and mint go hand in hand! This looks and sounds incredible!

    Like

    • Much appreciated Min!

      It’s funny you mentioned the popularity of dark chocolate because I could swear that the reason I didn’t like it before was that it was waaaay too bitter for me. As it wasn’t very popular, perhaps chocolate companies took the hint and tweaked the contents of dark chocolate in order to capitalise on the niche market of cocoa solids/almost pure chocolate (well purer than milk chocolate) thereby making it a bit more palatable. Either that or my palate has become more sophisticated and accustomed to complex tastes.

      Like

  3. Pingback: A short-term cake alternative: Courgette ribbons, tomatoes + parma ham salad | Foodlattio [fud~lay~she~oh]

  4. Pingback: The Mojo Bringer: Six-layered Mega Chocolatey Cake + Spreadable Ganache | Foodlattio [fud~lay~she~oh]

What do you think?

