Zero-fuss pasta: Spinach + chorizo tagliatelle

5 comments
Lunch or Dinner, Quimple (Quick and simple)

SONY DSC

You know when you really really fancy a tasty meal that requires minimal effort? I was in that kind of mood when I made this dish. It was simple, straight to the point, quick  (yup I honestly think 15 minutes to prepare a meal is quick…and totally worth it) but delicious. What else does a girl need? Chorizo has always and will always be my favourite kind of sausage meat, its subtle spiciness added a bit of a kick without being overpowering. Also I put the garlic in towards the end so that its taste was more evident instead of fading away in the background with the onions. This dish is all about the balance of dynamic flavours to keep things simple. Keyword being ‘simple’.

SONY DSC

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 1/2 onion, finely sliced
  • A small knob of ginger, finely sliced or grated
  • 100g chorizo, sliced
  • 1/2 fresh plum tomato, chopped
  • 4 nests of tagliatelle
  • 2 ladlespoons of pasta water
  • Pinch of salt, to taste
  • 2 pinches of paprika
  • 1 clove garlic,  finely sliced or grated
  • 1 handful of spinach

SONY DSC

In a pan of salted water and 2 tablespoons of olive oil, boil the tagliatelle for 10 minutes on medium heat or just follow the instructions on the pack

Don’t forget to reserve some of the pasta water

While the pasta is cooking, in another pan fry the onions for 1 minute

Add the chorizo and ginger, stir and leave for two minutes

Throw in the tomatoes then add the pasta and paprika. Using pasta ‘claw’ spoon or a fork, stir gently to incorporate.

Add 1 ladlespoonful of the pasta water, mix and leave to absorb for 1 minute

Add the spinach, mix then add the rest of the pasta water

Mix again, add the garlic then turn off the heat.

SONY DSC

Serve with parmesan cheese et voila!

SONY DSC

Do you have any fool-proof meals that require minimal effort?

Posted by

Hello, I’m Aisha and I am a foodaholic. If weight gain does not correlate with food intake, my whole life would be about food. I’d eat (more of) it, breathe it, swim (although I can’t swim) in it, drown (since I can’t swim) in it. I’d speak the language of food and my body would be food. I’d probably end up eating myself. My brain is occupied with food thoughts 84.74% of the time. If I didn’t go running at least 4 times a week like I do now then I’d definitely be 90kg or 14 stones or 1000000 stones or more. And I wish I didn’t care because I’d be the happiest fattest person ever as long as I eat good food. So welcome to the virtual food side of my brain and let’s get virtually fat together.

5 thoughts on “Zero-fuss pasta: Spinach + chorizo tagliatelle”

  1. I like this minimal effort recipe.. Great website you have got here and the photos are really nice.
    – Sarito

    Like

  2. This is really quick, and I love the tip for adding the garlic at the end. Looks and sounds delicious so will have to add it to my armoury of quick meals.
    My go to “quick” meal is a putenesca pasta, not because its quick, but because it doesn’t need any fresh ingredients, garlic, tinned tomatoes, onions, capers, anchovies and olives. I always have these knocking around my pantry and fridge, so is perfect for when I’m too lazy to get groceries. Of course made with fresh Roma tomatoes and cooked slowly, it is even better! 😉

    Like

    • I’m not gonna lie, I had to type putenesca into Google cos I’ve never heard it before, and I really don’t know how I’ve been sheltered from something that sounds like it tastes delicious. Anchovies and capers are like the Will and Kate of food, they go so so sooo well together. I’m gonna have to try your recommendation this weekend, thank youuu!

      Like

  3. Woman after my own heart lol! This looks absolutely delicious! I would love to make this sometime soon! (Saving recipe now! LOL)

    Like

What do you think?

