Feel my pulse(s): Hearty chunky lentils + beans soup

5 comments
Light dinner, Lunch or Dinner, Vegetables

SONY DSC

Lately it’s been cold and icy and some days are snowy, I swear I just want to retreat to my bed and hibernate, the real hibernation that real animals like bears do. Think about it, it could totally work if we were all synchronised. All we’d need to do is eat as much as we can, get fat then live off our body fat while we hibernate (until the weather becomes bearable). If we all cooperated and did this in unison, we won’t even have to do anything or need any energy to do anything, no jobs etc because we would all be hibernating and the world will be at a stand still. I just need to send a memo to everyone in England…Twitter would probably work right? While the memo’s invisibly floating around the world wide web, I reluctantly decided to brave the cold and go running and surprisingly managed to not slip and got a few shots on my phone (I take it with me for the GPS running app), everywhere looks beautiful in the snow!

 

 

Anyways, I digress. The only things that got me through those runs were the longing for warmth and thoughts of warm hearty food like this delicious, easy and highly nutritious ‘throw everything together’ soup. Pulses like beans, chickpeas, lentils etc are a great source of protein, which I needed in order to repair my muscles and keep me fuller for longer (so no chance of calorific snacking) after that run. It was just what my mind and body needed to function.

SONY DSC

Ingredients

  • 1/2 onion, sliced thinly or chopped
  • Handful of diced chorizo
  • Handful of sliced cabbage
  • 1 carrot, chopped or diced
  • Sliced or chopped chillies
  • 1 litre water
  • A knob of ginger, grated
  • 1 cup of green lentils, rinsed in cold water and drained
  • 1 can (400g) chickpeas, rinsed in cold water and drained
  • 1 can (400g) butter beans, rinsed in cold water and drained
  • Salt, enough to taste
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • 1 tsp dried rosemary
  • 1 tbsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 1/2 handful of coriander, chopped

SONY DSC

As always for dishes like this one I literally just threw in whatever I found in the fridge and cupboards. I would have liked to put in some kidneys beans but we didn’t have any so I substituted with the creamy buttery butter beans which were a good choice. It’s not necessary to be confined to using chorizo, I wanted to use chicken but we didn’t have any available. You get the idea.

SONY DSC

Method

In a deep pan, fry the onions in a tablespoon of oil on low heat for about 3 minutes then add the diced chorizo, stir and leave for 5 minutes until some oil has been produced by the chorizo.

Throw in the sliced cabbage, chillies, carrots, water, ginger and the condiments and leave to simmer for 5 minutes.

SONY DSC

Add the lentils into the pan then put the lid on and leave to simmer on low medium heat for 40 minutes or until they are almost soft (more done than al dente).

Now add the chickpeas and garlic, simmer for 5 mins

Throw in the butter beans and coriander and leave for 3-5 more minutes. They’re very tender even before cooking so overcooking them will make them quite mushy unless that’s your preference.

SONY DSC

Get cosy, put on your favourite episode of Girls, Breaking Bad, The Office or Sex and the City and enjoy your soup with some bread or just by itself. If you’ve still got some left try it as a sauce with spaghetti, it tastes just as delish!

SONY DSC

Are you with me on the whole hibernation thing? What would be your pre-hibernation meal?

Posted by

Hello, I’m Aisha and I am a foodaholic. If weight gain does not correlate with food intake, my whole life would be about food. I’d eat (more of) it, breathe it, swim (although I can’t swim) in it, drown (since I can’t swim) in it. I’d speak the language of food and my body would be food. I’d probably end up eating myself. My brain is occupied with food thoughts 84.74% of the time. If I didn’t go running at least 4 times a week like I do now then I’d definitely be 90kg or 14 stones or 1000000 stones or more. And I wish I didn’t care because I’d be the happiest fattest person ever as long as I eat good food. So welcome to the virtual food side of my brain and let’s get virtually fat together.

5 thoughts on “Feel my pulse(s): Hearty chunky lentils + beans soup”

  1. I certainly sleep longer at this time of year. I am a hibernation guy. Last meal? Probably a big risotto.

    Like

    • I literally just woke up from a long nap now, so so primitive.

      Risotto does sound good actually with copious amounts of mushrooms etc. I think mine would have to be beans or chestnuts, depends on how much can be available to me.

      Like

  2. Hibernating….oh, yeah, definitely! That’s what I do every winter. Although, as I live on my own, I do have to do grocery shopping occasionally, otherwise I’d starve!! LOL.

    However, I find that with dishes such as this, though they sound delicious, they have a drastic effect on my bowel and produces humungous amounts of gas, so I wouldn’t eat this sort of thing two days in a row! But, yes, I’m a fan of this type of dish, hearty, healthy, warming, delicious — I’d add some grated nutmeg as well, to give the flavour a real lift.

    Pre-hibernate meal: hmmm…..a large El Greco pizza with extra olives and pineapple and a couple of stubbies of light ale. Yes! Yum!

    Like

What do you think?

