Django Unchained tribute: Crimson-splattered white cake

5 comments
Cakes and bakes

SONY DSCNote: This is not a review of Django Unchained. This is just me expressing my intense admiration for a genius masterpiece in the only way I know how to express myself; through food.

The foodie in me woke up at the white cake scene. Instead of listening to the conversation they were having, I was looking at the cake and wondering how they made it so white (it looked like snow!) and what kind of icing they used (it looked extra smooth and white). The 2nd time I watched it, I was able to observe the cake scene more (sad, right?) then I made up my mind that I was going to make a white cake.

SONY DSCI chose a red dusting because everyone knows how Tarantino likes his films; witty, action-packed, gory, bloody and bloody and Django Unchained was filled with all that and more. I especially loved the symbolism of blood and the striking images of red on white:

  • Various scenes of Django wearing the dead slaver’s bloodstained coat
  • The scene where Big Daddy was shot and his blood was splattered all over the white horse he was riding,
  • When Ellis Brittle was shot in the cotton field and the camera beautifully captured the fine details of his bright red blood sprayed on pure white cotton,
  • The almost-farewell scene where Dr. Schultz shot Monsieur Candie and the bullet went through his white rose ‘brooch’ and into his heart then blood seeped out of him and trickled down the rose.

If a movie is able to get me to voluntarily bake a triple-layered cake then it must’ve been something pretty special.

SONY DSCNow on to the technical bit. I tried to make the cake as white a possible so I used white caster sugar, thoroughly beaten butter, egg whites, white flour, milk, cream cheese filling and royal icing frosting. Although the vanilla essence was dark, I only used a little bit of it which I doubt would’ve made a difference to the colour of the cake. The outcome was great; it was moist as a result of the milk, I also loved the slight saltiness of the cream cheese filling and the gentle sweetness of the royal icing but visually the sponge itself didn’t come out as white as I wanted. If anyone knows how I could get a whiter purer-looking cake please let me know, I’ll pay you in virtual hugs 😀

SONY DSC

Ingredients
For the sponge (makes 2)

  • 230g butter
  • 260g sugar
  • 240ml milk
  • 1.5 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 390g flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 7 egg whites

For the cream cheese filling (enough for the 3-layers)

  • 150g cream cheese
  • 85g icing sugar, sifted

For the royal icing (enough for the 3 layers)

  • 2 egg whites
  • 400g icing sugar
  • 2 tsp glycerine

Method (makes two cakes)

Preheat the oven to gas mark 4

In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar on the high setting for about 7-10 minutes, until it’s really fluffy and pale.

SONY DSCWhile it’s beating, sift the flour and baking powder into another bowl as well as the pinch of salt. Also in a different bowl, whisk the egg whites with an electric whisk until it’s doubled in size or until extra white and fluffy.

In batches alternate between adding the dry ingredients and milk plus vanilla extract (begin and end with the dry ingredients) into the butter mixture while mixing on low setting.

Stop the beating and fold in the egg whites with a spatula or metal spoon until the mixture is smooth.

Transfer to the greased, lined and floured baking tins. Bake for 40 minutes on gas mark 5 or until golden brown or until the cake tester/toothpick comes out clean.

SONY DSC

When it’s done, take out of the tin and leave to cool completely or overnight on a cooling rack.
Sandwich the cakes with the cream cheese frosting (cream cheese + sugar, whisk lightly)

SONY DSCPrepare the royal icing by whisking the egg whites with an electric whisk until fluffy. Stop whisking, add the icing sugar 2 tablespoons at a time, whisk again and repeat until you’ve used up all the sugar and the mixture looks extra white, glossy and spreadable. it would be wise to do this part in the sink because trust me, the icing will get EVERYWHERE.

SONY DSC

Using a spatula, palette knife or cake smoother, slather the royal icing all over it then smooth around and decorate.

SONY DSC

Slice off as much as you want because this is the moment you’ve been labouring for.

Guten Appetit!

SONY DSC

Has a movie ever inspired your inner foodie? If so, what movie and what did you make?

Posted by

Hello, I’m Aisha and I am a foodaholic. If weight gain does not correlate with food intake, my whole life would be about food. I’d eat (more of) it, breathe it, swim (although I can’t swim) in it, drown (since I can’t swim) in it. I’d speak the language of food and my body would be food. I’d probably end up eating myself. My brain is occupied with food thoughts 84.74% of the time. If I didn’t go running at least 4 times a week like I do now then I’d definitely be 90kg or 14 stones or 1000000 stones or more. And I wish I didn’t care because I’d be the happiest fattest person ever as long as I eat good food. So welcome to the virtual food side of my brain and let’s get virtually fat together.

5 thoughts on “Django Unchained tribute: Crimson-splattered white cake”

  1. Dee says:

    That looks so gorgeous, I want to eat my screen. How does one apply to be one of your food tasters.

    Like

    • Thank you Roger!

      For the red dusting I used edible petal dust (part of The Plain & Simple range) which came in a twin pack (2 little jars). I bought them from our local TK Maxx for £2.99 but I just had a look on the packet and they’re available here: http://www.rainbowdust.co.uk/

      Like

What do you think?

