Tiny cakes, bold flavours: Ginger + Nectarine + Apricot mini cupcakes

3 comments
Cakes and bakes, Dessert, Fruity cakes

 SONY DSC

As much as I’d love this to be a ‘dust off the new year diet-inducing cobwebs from the cake mixer’ post, reality is it’s not. Your cake mixers can continue to gather the dust but you CAN bake your (mixer-less) cake and eat it too. Basically what I’m saying in the lamest way ever  is that this recipe requires no hand mixers or Kitchen Aid shenanigans. Just your hands and a fork or whisk…and sugar and flour and eggs and ginger and everything else.

SONY DSC

These cupcakes are my form of escapism. For the 10 seconds it takes me to scoff down each cupcake, I’m taken back to summer 2013 and all other summers before then; refreshing ginger drinks, ripe fleshy juicy nectarines and lazy hot evenings when pancakes topped with apricot jam had to suffice. So I found a genius way to combine these three delicious ingredients!! In a cake!! In winter!! Amazing. 

SONY DSC

Prepare for the smell of caramel engulfing your whole apartment. For the chunky and surprising bites of the ginger. For the oaty crunchy. Just prepare for all that awesomeness.

SONY DSC

The what. (makes 12 mini cupcakes and then some)

  • 70g butter
  • 50g soft brown sugar
  • 50g golden syrup
  • 70g plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 50g  porridge oats
  • 1 tbsp ground ginger
  • 1 egg
  • 40g roughly chopped stem ginger
  • 12 pieces thinly sliced nectarines
  • 2 tbsp of heated apricot jam

SONY DSC

The how.

Preheat the oven to 175 °C/gas mark 4 and case up the cupcake tin.

In a bowl, mix in the dry ingredients.

Melt the butter, sugar and golden syrup in a saucepan on low to medium heat until smooth, dissolved and bubbling gently.

Once the syrup is ready, take it off the heat, add the dry ingredients, the chopped stem ginger and the egg. Use a fork or a whisk to mix until there are no lumps.

Divide amongst the cupcakes but leave about a tablespoon of the mixture in the pan.

Add 1 tablespoon of oats and 1 tablespoon of plain flour to the remaining pan mixture to form a thick dough. Divide evenly amongst the cupcake cases.

Top with the slices of nectarines and bake for 20 mins. Glaze over/brush on the melted apricot jam and prepare to escape to when the sun was shining and life was good.

SONY DSC

What taste evokes memories for you?

Posted by

Hello, I’m Aisha and I am a foodaholic. If weight gain does not correlate with food intake, my whole life would be about food. I’d eat (more of) it, breathe it, swim (although I can’t swim) in it, drown (since I can’t swim) in it. I’d speak the language of food and my body would be food. I’d probably end up eating myself. My brain is occupied with food thoughts 84.74% of the time. If I didn’t go running at least 4 times a week like I do now then I’d definitely be 90kg or 14 stones or 1000000 stones or more. And I wish I didn’t care because I’d be the happiest fattest person ever as long as I eat good food. So welcome to the virtual food side of my brain and let’s get virtually fat together.

3 thoughts on “Tiny cakes, bold flavours: Ginger + Nectarine + Apricot mini cupcakes”

  1. Nana Gyesie says:

    OMG!!!!! this looks totally yummyy…i need to learn how to bake like you…teach me master!!!!

    Like

    • Thank you sir! All you need to do is follow the recipe but if you need help then I’m here to help 🙂

      Like

What do you think?

