Five-A-Day Cheat: Seasoned + Baked Parsnip Strips

Leave a comment
Quimple (Quick and simple)

Quick riddle. What is thin, crispy and delicious but terribly un-photogenic? Parsnip strips.

DSC056671

Okay, let’s move on from that awful joke. I have been obsessed with vegetable peelers since watching this incredible video and reading Warren Berger’s Glimmer. A small section of it explains how special vegetable peelers were designed for people with arthritis so it sat comfortably in their hand. I particular love how it all happened because the process combines great designs with solving fundamental issues that make a huge difference to peoples’ lives. Such a great read. But you have come here for food, not for my subpar book review so let’s begin.

DSC056343

If like me you get bored of vegetables quickly, here’s a great way to get them in you. The best thing about them is that if you shut your eyes really tight and shove them in your mouth, it feels like you’re eating Walkers Ready Salted crisps…until you open your eyes and see what’s going in your mouth. But then it’s too late because your body is already absorbing all those nutrients.

DSC056431

What I love about peeling is that you can do it to almost every vegetable or fruit; carrots, potatoes, pears. So far I’ve tried it with apples and sweet potatoes and honestly it’s the best healthy snack you could have without going overboard.

DSC056495

The what:

2 Parsnips

1 Tbsp Olive Oil

Seasoning, chilli flakes, tumeric and/or salt to taste

SONY DSC

The how:

1. Preheat the oven at 150 degrees, around gas mark 2

2. Wash the parsnips and peel peel peel

3. Once you’re done peeling, add the olive oil and seasoning and ruffle with your precious hands ensuring the oil kisses each strip

4. Place on an oven rack and try to make sure they are spread evenly

5. Bake for 45 minutes to 1 hour depending on your oven or until you see that it’s starting to get brown (it will get crispy once it’s out of the oven.

6. Munch away!

DSC0567022

Do you have any other trick of the mind ways to prepare your vegetables?

Posted by

Hello, I’m Aisha and I am a foodaholic. If weight gain does not correlate with food intake, my whole life would be about food. I’d eat (more of) it, breathe it, swim (although I can’t swim) in it, drown (since I can’t swim) in it. I’d speak the language of food and my body would be food. I’d probably end up eating myself. My brain is occupied with food thoughts 84.74% of the time. If I didn’t go running at least 4 times a week like I do now then I’d definitely be 90kg or 14 stones or 1000000 stones or more. And I wish I didn’t care because I’d be the happiest fattest person ever as long as I eat good food. So welcome to the virtual food side of my brain and let’s get virtually fat together.

What do you think?

