Guilt-free Triple Whammy Treats: Healthy + Quick + Cheap Gooey Chocolate Balls

Leave a comment
Dessert, Quimple (Quick and simple)

I really do think the secret to happiness is not just having great eyebrows but also being able to prepare your own food from scratch. Nowadays it’s a bit of a luxury because we’re all busy and if you think about it, it’s a bit sad that the freedom of time has become somewhat beyond reach. As much as I love eating out and getting takeaways, cooking from scratch saves me money, makes me feel good and I know exactly what goes into what I’m eating. Plus I recently discovered that it doesn’t take much time.

DSC06208

This isn’t particularly cooking, but you get the gist. I make this whenever I’m craving chocolate (which is weird as I’ve never been a big chocolate fan until recently). It’s a great way to get in some protein and fibre AND satisfy the chocolate craving, honestly it tastes just like real chocolate to me.

DSC06188

Also, if you’re a fan of healthy fruit bars, you’d notice that they pretty much follow the same base; oats for structure and bulk, dates and raisins for sweetness and chewiness, nuts for moistness and a liquid to bind. Everything else is secondary which leaves you room to experiment.

DSC06194

It’s probably the easiest and one of the most delicious snacks to make, great for lunch boxes or when you’re on the go and don’t want to give in to junky unhealthy chocolate bars. I literally feel like I’ve cheated the system. Muhahaha. Ok bye.

DSC06204

The What?


100g porridge oats (rolled, organic, any works fine)

50g seeds (sunflower, pumpkin, linseed, sesame etc)

70g pitted dates

50g sultanas or raisins

4 tbsps cocoa powder

1 tsp golden syrup or honey or agave

4 tbsps water

DSC06225

The How?


1. Pour your oats into a blender or food processor and blend until the consistency is flour-like. If you want some texture, just blend for about 5 seconds.

2. Add the seeds, dates and sultanas, making sure you blend after each addition

3. Throw in the cocoa powder and blend. Then add the water. If you want it more gooey then add some more water but a little at a time and blending in between to avoid it getting to mushy.

4. When it’s a consistency you like, roll into 15g balls (if you want to be precise).

5. Munch away!

DSC06222

If you want toppings like goji berries (as pictured) or desiccated coconut, make your hands a little bit wet, roll the balls in your hands again then roll in the toppings. Enjoy!

Posted by

Hello, I’m Aisha and I am a foodaholic. If weight gain does not correlate with food intake, my whole life would be about food. I’d eat (more of) it, breathe it, swim (although I can’t swim) in it, drown (since I can’t swim) in it. I’d speak the language of food and my body would be food. I’d probably end up eating myself. My brain is occupied with food thoughts 84.74% of the time. If I didn’t go running at least 4 times a week like I do now then I’d definitely be 90kg or 14 stones or 1000000 stones or more. And I wish I didn’t care because I’d be the happiest fattest person ever as long as I eat good food. So welcome to the virtual food side of my brain and let’s get virtually fat together.

What do you think?

